⭐ Say hello to new features ⭐
⭐ You Asked, We Listened ⭐
❶ Share YouTube Videos on Instagram (Feed, Story, IGTV) 💰
❷ Download or Repost Stories 🔁
❸ Instagram Analytics Tool to Track Performance + Growth Tips ⭐
❹ Bulk Posts Delete (All at Once) ⚡
❺ Bio Templates 🔗
It may happen that you post something on Instagram but don’t want some people to see it. Actually, one of the most frequently asked questions by Instagram users is “How to hide Instagram posts from certain followers?”. While there is not a direct way to do so on Instagram, you can change some settings to hide Instagram posts or stories from certain followers. In this article, we discuss this issue and introduce some ways to do so. Hence, if you want to hide posts or stories on Instagram, keep reading.
If you are looking for an Instagram management tool, try AiSchedul for free, hitting the following button.
Table of Contents
Instagram does not let users hide posts from certain followers. But there are some ways to ditch the problem. In the following, we talk about some techniques that will help you to hide posts from all or some of your followers. So, to know how to hide posts from certain followers, keep on reading!
One way to hide your Instagram posts from certain followers is to make your Instagram account private. In this case, your account will not be public, and people have to send you a follow request to be able to see your posts. Hence, if you know a person and don’t want to let them see your posts, you can reject their follow request. However, this just works when the person is not following you at the moment. Therefore, if you have the person in your following list, you need to try one of the other ways that we talk about in the following.
Another way to hide Instagram posts from certain followers is to block them. Whenever you block a person on Instagram, if they were following you, Instagram stops them from doing. Moreover, if your account was a public one, they will not be able to see your posts and stories even if they were not following you. Hence, by blocking people, you can prevent them from viewing your posts. However, when you block someone on Instagram, they will be automatically unfollowed by you, and if their account is private, you will not be able to see their posts too.
One other way to hide posts from people is to archive them. When you archive a post on Instagram, the post will not be shown on your profile. So, people cannot see them, and even they will not know that these posts exist. But note that when you archive a post, none of your followers can see that, and you are actually hiding it from all the people who follow your account. To archive a post on Instagram:
Step 1) Go to your Instagram profile.
Step 2) Tap on the intended photo/video.
Step 3) Then, tap on the three dots icon on the top right side of the post.
Step 4) Finally, tap on “Archive” and your post will be hidden.
You can unarchive your posts from the Instagram settings whenever you want.
Despite the posts shared on feed, Instagram lets users hide their stories from certain followers. Actually, to hide a story from people, you can block them just like you did to hide posts. Moreover, if you change your privacy status to private, only people who follow you can see your stories. But, there are two direct ways to hide Instagram stories from certain followers that we discuss in the following.
Instagram users can hide stories from certain people by changing some settings. Actually, when you hide a story from a person, they will not be notified at all, and you can hide your content from them without any worries.
To hide Instagram stories from certain followers:
Step 1) Open the Instagram app and go to your profile.
Step 2) Tap on the three lines icon on top of the screen.
Step 3) Then, tap on “Settings”.
Step 4) Now, tap on “Privacy” and then choose “Story”.
Step 5) On the following page, you can add people by tapping on “Hide Story From” and choose the people you want.
That’s all. Now the certain followers will not be able to see what you have shared on your Instagram story.
According to Verge, in June 2017, Instagram started testing a new feature, and 18 months later, announced that the feature had been released and people can use it. This feature is called the “Close friends list” that lets you share stories with people you want. Using this feature, you don’t let people who are not in your close-friends list see your stories, so you are somehow hiding your stories from people.
To add/remove someone to/from your close-friends list:
Step 1) Open the Instagram app on your mobile phone.
Step 2) Tap on the three lines icon on the top right of the screen.
Step 3) Then tap on “Close Friends”.
Step 4) choose the intended followers and tap on “Add”.
Now, when you are sharing a story, you can directly send it to your close friends, and other people will not be able to see what you have shared.
AiSchedul coupon code
You can use the SAVE10B discount code on your first purchase to get 10% off on all the packages. The code will be expired by the end of 2021.
Do you have any friends, colleagues, or relatives that you don’t want to see their posts and stories on your homepage? If you unfollow them, they may notice it and not appreciate that! So, if you are looking for a way to not see their content without unfollowing them, we should tell you there is a solution. You just need to mute their posts or stories. This way, they won’t notice anything and you won’t see their posts and stories on your home page too.
In order to mute someone on Instagram:
Step 1) Go to their Instagram profile page.
Step 2) Click on the following button.
Step 3) Tap on the mute option.
Step 4) Mute posts or stories.
To wrap it up, there is not a direct way to hide Instagram posts from certain followers, but you can block people to prevent them from seeing your posts. By the way, Instagram has a feature that lets users hide their stories from certain followers. Moreover, you can make a close friends list on Instagram to share your posts with a limited number of followers.
Also, if you are interested to know who has taken a screenshot of your posts or stories, click here.